Niger, Burkina Faso and Mali pull out of ECOWAS

Spread the news

The military regimes in Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger have announced their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The countries made the announcement on Sunday, January 28, in a joint statement read out on Niger national television.

According to Wion News, the leaders of the three Sahel nations issued a statement saying it was a “sovereign decision” to leave the Economic Community of West African States “without delay”.

Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, in the statement said: “After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism.

The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *